band photographers

nic_ola

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
does anybody know of any band photographers and their websites? i wanna take up a little band photography for a uni project, i want to get some cool black and white shots, but want to have a look at some existing work to bulk up my research.

just looked at your website, you have some great images! is it quite difficult to photograph bands? im kinda new to photography so not exactly clued up on what equipment to use, did u use flash?

yes its not the easiest subject in the world to shoot, but lots of fun!
no, never use flash.
firstly, a lot of bands wont like it and also its only going to show up heads in front of you, bottoms of stages and not much else. use the lights on the stage and work with them.
i tend to not shoot when the lights are too red as it makes the performers faces look the same. if you can learn to work in time with the lighting guys, it will help hehe

himmm..use a high speed film..400

performers, especially guitarists and singers move around a lot so you have to wait for opportune moments. i wouldnt shoot them if they are running all over the stage on your first go. its a frustrating subject to shoot because youre dealing with lots of different elements at play, so dont be disconcerted if you come home with a roll of blurred photos.

if you can, id shoot digital, that way, you at least know what you need to fix and can change the speeds around.

i hope this helps in some way!

I don't trust bands anymore, the one time I was hired to work for one, they burned me pretty bad. :\

Damn poor musicians :D

You need a fast lens for band photography, or a good flash, but I'm not a big fan of flash photography, and neither are bands really. I'd much rather use available light. I use my 50mm f/1.8 as often as I can with high iso and get good results.