Baseball photography?

dontpanic

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I was able to shoot one game last season of our local AAA minor league team...this season we (wife and I) both plan to shoot many games as we've been able to secure season-long credentials.

Here's a sample from the game last season:

Any critique, feedback or tips would be most appreciated...want to make the most of the chance the team has given me. I'm primarily a hockey photographer. :D Rest of the set is here:
http://www.midsouthphotos.com/gallery/v/sports/baseball/rb_alb_07_07_06/

Don't panic, dontpanic, only because your photo got moved from Photo Critique to the General Gallery. But I feel you will be getting the response you are looking for here, much rather than in Photo Critique (which is special and not designed for "any critique, feedback or tips", OK? ;))

Hey, and welcome to ThePhotoForum!!! :D

I don't know the first, second and last thing about baseball, so I cannot give you any real critique other than that I would clone out the head at the bottom there, and that I like the close-up of this scene. You focused really well on what is important, not including anything distracting (other than that bit of head ;) ). Good frozen action. Nice light. Good colours.

Thanks all around! :thumbup:

So...maybe like this?

7_7_06_IMG_9382.jpg

Crop out the grass on the second image and you're doing great.

the next thing I notice is that the angle seems a little strange. Where are you shooting from? with credentials you ought to be able to get somewhere that's field level or close, this looks elevated to me.

The most difficult thing i've found as far as baseball is concerned is being ready. Baseball consists of lots of boring stuff with a few interesting shots thrown in. So, be ready for those fleeting moments (looks like you're doing fine / that already)