Baseball

Riverlake

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I've been hired to photograph a national baseball tournament this summer. I'm 17-years-old and I'm Canadian. I've been photographing sports for 3 years, and I've gotten photos of soccer, auto racing, and hockey published. I also take pictures for 2 local hockey teams. They are a Midget-AAA team and a Junior-C team.

I am looking for advice on how to photograph baseball and I also want to know what type of photography services I should offer people at this tournament. I am just starting to try to become a professional photographer and I have a lot of skill, but very little experience.

In all honestly, if you're getting paid to shoot a national tournament, you don't have the right equipment. Sure you can do it, but most sport photographers shoot with cameras that can do 5+ fps with 300-400mm lenses with big apertures at like f/2.8. Your chances of getting the perfect shot are going to be a lot slimmer.

Plus, what kind of quality are your employers expecting? Even if you're shooting from the side of the field you're not going to be able to get close ups of out field plays on the other side of the field.

I know, my opinion sucks and I'm an ass.

In all honestly, if you're getting paid to shoot a national tournament, you don't have the right equipment. Sure you can do it, but most sport photographers shoot with cameras that can do 5+ fps with 300-400mm lenses with big apertures at like f/2.8. Your chances of getting the perfect shot are going to be a lot slimmer.

Plus, what kind of quality are your employers expecting? Even if you're shooting from the side of the field you're not going to be able to get close ups of out field plays on the other side of the field.

I know, my opinion sucks and I'm an ass.

My employers haven't told me what kind of quality they're expecting. I think they mostly just expect me to sell team photos.