ucddyan

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.freewebs.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello there,

This is my first time posting photos and I'd really like to get better but I'm embarrassed with my photos in general so I'll post the ones I think are really good. I'm fine with harsh criticism because I'd really like to get better. I know I need to work on composition, that's hard for a scientist who's used to protocol, but I'd like critique on other aspects as well. I'm working with a Nikon D200 and the 18-200mm Nikkor AF/S zoom lens. I'm mostly interested in landscape (but of course there composition is key) and I also love to take pictures of people with genuine expressions on their faces (which is why I love weddings so much). I don't like using the on-camera flash which is all I have, so that's why the high noise and crappy exposure of the second shot, and none of these photos have gone through any post-processing. I really like the photo with the group hug, but how could I have composed that one better - I know I need to get out of the "snapshot" mindset where I frame everyone in the center, but how could an off-the-cuff moment like that in that setting have been a better photo?

First, taken at a wedding:
DSC_0194.JPG

Second, taken at another wedding:
DSC_0102.JPG

Third at the same wedding as above:
DSC_0189.JPG

And at Emerald Bay at Lake Tahoe:
DSC_0096.JPG

Thank you for any C&C. In general, if I work on this, do you think I might have the potential to be a professional of some capacity in the future (like for weddings and portraits - and i mean in the distant future)?
newthread.php

#1 as you said, centering the subject is not always the best thing to do. But depending on the background, it might be a better choice.