aggiezach

Yup...
Reaction score
Website
jessandzach.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Howdy,

As I'm sure you all are, I am tired of paying the ridiculous processing cost for my B&W film. I would love to set up a darkroom now that the one at school has been shut down :( The only problem is that I am a student and I do rent a house so I can't just build a darkroom. I've read about people using their bathrooms as makeshift darkrooms and I would love to hear some feedback from anyone who has done this and the success/failure you had. Also any advice would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks & Gig'Em
Zach
Hope to be developing soon!

I use my bathroom. I setup and teardown for each session. There's no window so all I have to worry about is my door. I pin up a dark green flannel sheet outside the door if I'm printing during sunlight.

I used my bedroom because it had more room than my bathroom. One thing to remember, although it is convenient, you don't need running water in the dark. You can load film into the dev tank in any dark area (closet, etc...), and then sit in front of the TV to dev it if you want.

Printing must be done in the dark (safelights), but once the paper has been fixed it's no longer light sensitive, and you can leave the dark to wash prints in the kitchen or bathroom.

Bathrooms are good I saw a rig that had a kind of cage around the tolette and flat top for the enlarger, it was removable, pretty slick, ill see if I can find it for you. Do you have a tub in your bath room thats always good for washing and you can put small trays in it. One thing that always was a problem for me was ventallation its easy to get fumed outespecially in a small space.
I used my kitchen in college, and I do not recomend it uless you like all your food Fix flavored.

Good luck