beginner and lots of ?????

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by michellek, Oct 1, 2007.

1. michellek

michellek TPF Noob!

Hello, I'm new to photography, and wanted to pick it up as a hobby. Basically just to take pics of my family.
    I've been reading up on all the different cameras, lighting etc... basically I'm overwhelmed with it all.
    Where does one begin? I have one spot in my home, in my basement that I'm wanting to convert to a studio.
    Anyone have advise for me? I know that is such a broad question, but for a beginner, I don't really know what I should be asking.
    I'd like to know what kind of digital camera would be the best suitable one for me, just as a hobby, though.
    Anyways, would like to hear from you all with all your input.
    Thanks!

2. Peanuts

Peanuts TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Welcome!

You provided lots of great information but there are a few more questions you need to ask yourself.

What is your budget? Have you considered starting with natural light, which you will essentially be mimicking in the studio (which can be quite an expensive venture)?

3. amateursnapper

amateursnapper TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Hi Michelle,

If your serious enough to be setting up a home studio then you'll need a digital SLR to get the most out of it. An entry level one would do but you won't get away with using a point and click.