annabelle.koopman

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi there,

I'm new to photography, and am wanting to upgrade from just taking photos on my iPhone.
I've looked around online a fair bit and am quite interested in mirrorless cameras, as well as film cameras. I'm hoping to find some opinions on which of these camera types would be best/better to get a grip on camera photography with and any other starting out tips! I'm interested in shooting mostly still, more scenic shots than people, and really like the look of a lot of 35mm stuff I've seen around but again am very much a beginner.
A few cameras I have my eyes on (secondhand as I'm on a student budget) are:
PanasonicLumix DMC-GF7 Mirrorless Micro Four Thirds Digital Camera with 12-32mm f/3.5-5.6 ASPH. Lens
PanasonicLumix DMC-GM1 Mirrorless Micro Four Thirds Digital Camera with 12-32mm Lens
NikonFG 35mm SLR Manual Focus Camera Body
Pentax K1000 with 50mm original Pentax lens 2 - 22, 135mm fixed Pentax lens (with fungus).

Any advice appreciated! Thanks! :)

Welcome to photography.

I'm going to make a couple of big assumptions (which may be completely wrong).
1. Since you're new to photography, I'm going to assume (and I could be wrong), that having to schlep around a lot of gear is something you'd find to be a hassle. So a smaller, lighter, more compact camera is something that will make it easier for you to get in the habit of carrying (and thus available for use). B/c the best camera is the one you have with you, and if you don't have it with you b/c it's a hassle to carry than it's not such a great camera.