beginner confused about lenses

captblue1

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I know this has been asked many times and i did do a search but i still don't understand. I am a beginner and have been hanging around for a couple of months now. my question is ::: how can i tell if one lense is better than another?
for example, which is better

35-80 f/4.0-5.6

or

35-80 f/3.5-5.6

I know what the 35-80 means. I just wanna know which one would give a sharper pic
thanks

But wait... you can approximate quite nicely:
And the more expensive one will probably be sharper. :)

Also - both of the lenses you mentioned are probably going to be soft... since they're typical consumer lenses.

You can look at MTF charts, which measure resolution.
You can look at "scores" on sites like www.photodo.com
You can ask around and read reviews. Usually every lens has a reputation of some sort... soft... slow focusing... sharp... good/bad build.

What's your camera brand?

so the f/3.5 doesn't necessarily mean it is better or worse than a f/4.0?
I have a Canon Rebel G2. i'm not looking to buy a new one. just wanted to learn about them.

You can't tell which one will give you a sharper image just based on the aperture limits. Google aperture and understand how it works. Most lenses perform at their best (sharpest) when they are stopped down a couple stops from maximum.

If I had to blindly pick a lens on what you listed, I would go for the f/3.5, because it lets more light in. But it might take it's sharpest pictures at f/8. If you know what lens it is, you can read about it at fredmiranda.com. But...take the reviews with a grain of salt. Most of the reviewers (not all) have a habit of comparing every lens to that particular manufacturers top of the line lens. So, if you are not a professional, you don't need to spend $5000 on a lens to get *great quality* photos.

the numbers 4.0 - 5.6 and 3.5 - 5.6 are describing the size of the aperture. Or how much light the camera can let in.