beginner help

nursecarla

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am a beginner photographer, and I want to purchase some alien bees, to set up a small home studio. I will be mostly taking pictures of my daughter, family etc.. to improve my skills.
I am doing this as a hobby right now.
Any advice?
Thanks
Carla

Start with one light and a reflector to begin with. Learn to use it effectively then add more lights as needed. I would suggest the AB-800 to start with. Maybe more power than you need, but you can turn the power down and this will provide a bit of room to grow in the future.

There is also the Strobist route before buying mono heads.

I've seen many beginning photographers try and take to big a bite initially and wind up discouraged to the point of abandoning photography.

Using strobed light is much more complex than not using strobed light and without a fairly good understanding of how the 3 elements of exposure work, (shutter speed, aperture, and ISO) you'll likely be very disappointed with your results.

You need more than just light(s). You also need light modifiers. Most studio portrait photographers use softboxes. The people at Paul C. Bluff (Alien Bee's) are very helpful.

I agree you'll actually learn quicker starting with just 1 light and a reflector and then adding as you gain knowledge and your skills improve.

I've seen many beginning photographers try and take to big a bite initially and wind up discouraged to the point of abandoning photography.

Using strobed light is much more complex than not using strobed light and without a fairly good understanding of how the 3 elements of exposure work, (shutter speed, aperture, and ISO) you'll likely be very disappointed with your results.

You need more than just light(s). You also need light modifiers. Most studio portrait photographers use softboxes. The people at Paul C. Bluff (Alien Bee's) are very helpful.