Beginner here, I need some advice!

Thor06

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Hey guys. I always have loved taking pictures, but I've never looked at it for a serious hobby. It started with taking pictures of me with other people and places that I wanted to remember but its been growing ever since. With my new camera (Kodak Easyshare E875) I have been getting into it more and more. I also love to Photoshop stuff whether it be touching up pictures all the way to doing abstract art for skateboards and shirts for my buddy's new skateboard company.

Where my pretty average point and click is excellent for everyday picture taking, I am starting to see some of the limitations particularly when I was taking pictures of my old show choir and my ultimate team... basically action shots. Well, I talked to a guy I met over spring break about his camera. I cant remember what it was, but it was some Minolta SLR with 3 barrels that he got for $40 at a garage sale. This got me excited, I doubt I could find a deal like that, but I thought film SLR's were thousands of dollars and now I find out that they can be on the cheaper side too.

Well, I have been eyeing up some cameras particularly the Cannon E04 T2 Rebel. Is this a decent enough camera? I am pretty novice, but I do have a lot of picture taking experience with my digitals and (what I think to be) a pretty good eye. It would be used fairly frequently, not really a paper weight or out all day every for that matter either. I would mostly use it for action shots of my frisbee team, my old show choir, other misc. sports, and I would probably take a lot of sunset and nature pictures as well. Also, digitals are pretty much out of the question, atleast for now. I definately dont have that much to put towards this.