Beginner in need of some advice!

Hello_Kellee

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello i am a beginner in photography, i have a canon rebel t5 and i'm not sure which settings are best for portraiture? i have been using the automatic setting but i would really like to step it up and play around with manual settings any suggestions?
thank you in advance you guys!

Hello and welcome! You're in the right place!

Understanding Exposure (someone link please) is a very easy to read book that will really help you to learn what settings to use. Personally and in short, I would suggest using a spot meter, single focal point and expose properly for your subject.

Hello and welcome! You're in the right place!

Understanding Exposure (someone link please) is a very easy to read book that will really help you to learn what settings to use. Personally and in short, I would suggest using a spot meter, single focal point and expose properly for your subject.

Thank you so much! <3

Hello i am a beginner in photography, i have a canon rebel t5 and i'm not sure which settings are best for portraiture? i have been using the automatic setting but i would really like to step it up and play around with manual settings any suggestions?
Get the right lens.
Add light.
Watch the poses.
Make sure your depth of field is correct.
Focus on the eyes.
Shoot in Raw.
Frame wide and crop in post.

Get the right lens.
Add light.
Watch the poses.
Make sure your depth of field is correct.
Focus on the eyes.
Shoot in Raw.
Frame wide and crop in post.

Awesome thank you for your help! any tip on searching for a Great quality lens?

With a crop sensor body I'd say any lens over 50mm that can open to f2.8 or wider. Canon makes a gorgeous 135L that is just magical.

With a crop sensor body I'd say any lens over 50mm that can open to f2.8 or wider. Canon makes a gorgeous 135L that is just magical.

Thank you so much for all your help! going to look into that right now! <3