Beginner Looking for a Good All around lens

Abstract3000

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
So I am new to this all and have absolutely no experience but looking forward to getting some.
The main help I am looking for is finding an all around good (Not in the Thousands Range) lens for the following activities

- The Kids High School Dance Competitions, plays, and Choir concerts

Looking for something that can take decent still shots from a bit of a distance as you are typically a few rows back in the theater or up in the bleachers. I am in no way a professional, just looking for the ability to zoom in and take better shots than a cell phone.

The camera I have chosen is the D3300 if needed, though I was thinking most Nikon Lens were universal.

Thanks for your consideration.

Well, I'm looking at getting a 70-200mm DX lens for shooting at more distance than the basic kit lens allows. It's pretty cheap for what it does. I think you'd need the same model I do, the AF-S one.

Now, if you want to spend more money then there are lots of other options.

Unfortunately there is no cheap option when shooting indoors with bad lighting. I would imagine your best bang for the buck lens would be the Tamron 70-200 Sp 2.8 VR lens. You should be able to get it new for around a $1000, or used for around $700. It is a lens used by quite a few pros, but it is relative heavy (if you are used to the kit lens). This will be my next lens for sure.

Seeing that your camera does not have an autofocus motor, many of the older Nikon lenses (without AF motor) will only be manual focus on your camera. Which could be tricky for someone just starting out.

Hi

You are correct that you can use all modern Nikon lenses on your camera. Look for AF-S G lenses. The DX lens range is specifically made for your type of DX camera, they are smaller & lighter than FX lenses, but they are also cheaper - often significantly cheaper. You can also use FX lenses if you wish.