Beginner needs direction!

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by meegre, May 12, 2008.

1. meegre

meegre TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Hello, I have been trolling these forums over the last few days and have been very impressed with the quality and quantity of feedback that is present here, so I decided to sign up. I am completely new to photography (minus the point and shoots) and am currently looking for a good beginner DSLR that can grow with me as I hopefully progress as a photographer.
    I am very interested in the canon 20d/30d models, and from what I have been reading, the owners of these cameras are for the most part, quite happy with their purchase. The amount of technical information regarding photography is overwhelming and I find it inhibiting the most important part of photography; taking pictures.
    I guess my first question is would a 20d/30d be a good camera that I can learn and develop on but not have to replace for awhile?
    The following questions assume that the answer to the first question is yes.
    My second question would be whether I should buy one new, with a warranty or refurbished from a reputable seller such as Adorama?
    Also, while browsing Adorama, I got quite confused by the pricing based on model. I am a firm believer in the notion that you get what you pay for, and the following prices confuse me a bit.
    [FONT='Verdana','sans-serif']Canon EOS-20D Digital SLR Camera Body Kit with 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 Lens - Refurbished By Canon U.S.A.[/FONT]
    [FONT='Verdana','sans-serif']699.95 (shipping included)[/FONT]
    [FONT='Verdana','sans-serif']Canon EOS-30D Digital SLR Camera Body, 8.2 Megapixels, Interchangeable Lens Camera - Refurbished by Canon U.S.A.[/FONT]
    [FONT='Verdana','sans-serif']639.95 (shipping included)[/FONT]
    [FONT='Verdana','sans-serif']Canon EOS-30D Digital SLR Camera Body Kit with 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 Lens - Refurbished by Canon U.S.A.[/FONT]