Beginner Needs Opinions on Camera!

Discussion in 'Photography Equipment & Products' started by crysbruce, Jan 26, 2009.

1. crysbruce

crysbruce TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Hi All! I am a beginner at photography- I have always thoroughly enjoyed taking pictures, but haven't gone further than it just being a hobby. I believe that this is what I am suppose to be doing so I want to take another step into it- I am looking to buy a new camera. This is my problem- Should I

a- Buy the SLR that i really want (I am thinking the Canon Rebel XS... I love the pictures it takes and the way it feels in my hands) and just practice for a while

or

b- Buy a smaller camera (like the Nikon P80 which I really enjoy also but it isn't so advanced) so I can tote it around easier (I have a one year old that I LOVE taking pictures of at random times) and I can just practice with for the next year or so and then possibly putting out more money on a SLR?

Do you have any suggestions for me? Knowing that I really have an interest for this but I also love to take random pictures at random times (usually I just throw my camera that I have now in my purse and take it out whenever needed)

Also- Do most 'professional' photographers use Photoshop? is this something I should invest in for editing? or is there something better out there?

Thanks for your help!

2. tirediron

tirediron Watch the Birdy! Staff Member Supporting Member

Photos OK to edit
    Sure, start with an easy question. First, welcome to the forum. Second... that depends. The big deciding factor is your budget. Can you afford to buy an SLR, and a lens or two, and then put up with the loss if you decide in six months or a year that it's really not all that much fun?