Beginner Pics - Critique Yourself

PhotoXopher

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.lightartisan.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I'm a beginner myself (only had a DSLR for a little over a year now) and wanted to share something I have learned that has helped me improve.

It's nothing new, but I think it needs to be mentioned more often.

1. Critique your own work.
2. Critique your own work.
3. Critique your own work.

Seriously, be honest with yourself.

I don't care if it's your first bokeh shot and you're amazed at how well you made a flower in the house stand out against your living room clutter (we've all done it, no shame in that).

But ask yourself:

1. What makes this photo interesting?
2. What could be improved?
3. Can I change something to make it more interesting?

Lastly, experiment... don't tie yourself into one mode (manual, aperture priority, shutter priority, auto)... use them ALL. If one mode doesn't work, challenge yourself to understand why.

I guess that's really the key, challenge yourself... don't rely on others to tell you what's wrong with your photos, try to figure it out yourself before posting, then post it if you still want to and see how your thoughts line up with others.

Yep. That is the most common thing i see. People relying off other peoples every word but don't really take the time to critique there own work and see what is right wrong what can be fixed and how it can be fixed.
TJ

Thats why I don't post pictures... Until I am satisfied with my photos, I don't see why I would need comments from others. It's when I AM satisfied with my photos will I ask for others input for stuff that I myself might've missed or not thought of.
I guess there is a negative to this as well, some may never be satisfied with their work while others might praise it.