Beginner...shooting my first wedding.

linpelk

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Ok, not really a total beginner, but figured it would get some blood boiling from some of you ;).
Some friends of ours are getting married in a couple of weeks. Both of them have been married before. It is a very secret ordeal. It will only be the bride/groom, my husband and I, plus the pastor. So, they want me to take pictures. They are planning to get married in a pretty dark patch of forest...which SUCKS for me! They want to do this in the Redwoods next to the largest tree in this particular forest which means it will be pictures of them near a really large tree trunk. I am having issues with this because I can't imagine how I'm going to make these pictures look nice. I swore I would NEVER take wedding pictures, but they want this to be short and sweet and don't want to hire someone. I am shooting with a Canon 30D, I have a 24-70 f/2.8L lens, a 50mm lens, and was thinking about renting a wide angle to help capture the feel of the forest. I have a 580 EX II, an umbrella and wireless triggers...that's about it. The couple has offered to rent me any equipment that I think I might need.
Can anyone offer any advice for this situation? Lighting set up? Or how to take pictures of big trees AND people??? Is it possible? Thanks for any help!

Although I have had only one experience shooting a wedding, I can offer one piece of advice. You might want to look into a Gary Fong flash diffuser. It's used by pros for weddings, and is pretty amazing at what it does.

Besides that, you need fast glass, lots of memory and spare batteries, and practice.

I'm a fairly new wedding photographer with about 10 weddings done, so I'll approach the problem as if I was the one shooting in that forest.