beginner using manual focus?

Tbini87

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hey guys. I am pretty new to photography and am finally getting some decent equipment and taking my camera off of auto when shooting. I have been looking at a 50mm 1.8 nikon lens but don't know if i should buy it since it won't autofocus on my D40. I have only taken a few shots EVER using manual focus and I wasn't exactly spot on.

I am wondering if a lot of people shoot with manual focus. I am also wondering how much practice it takes to get comfortable and decent at using manual focus. Should I be afraid of the 50mm prime that doesn't autofocus? I would love to get it for around $125 as opposed to spending something like $400 for one that will autofocus on a D40. Any help would be appreciated!

You won't be totally on your own doing manual focus.

The lens is officially known as the AF 50 mmf/1.8D and the D stands for distance.

The lens electronically sends distance information to the camera's autofocus module, and will light the in-focus indicator in the viewfinder once you've turned the focus ring to the right spot.

You can always double check by tripping the shutter and then zooming into the photo as you look at it on the LCD. While you're at it you can chec the DOF too.

When I was a beginner, manual focus was the only option. Photographers got by just fine for 100 years without AF.

The lens is officially known as the AF 50 mmf/1.8D and the D stands for distance.

The lens electronically sends distance information to the camera's autofocus module, and will light the in-focus indicator in the viewfinder once you've turned the focus ring to the right spot.

You can always double check by tripping the shutter and then zooming into the photo as you look at it on the LCD. While you're at it you can chec the DOF too.

When I was a beginner, manual focus was the only option. Photographers got by just fine for 100 years without AF.