Beginner: what camera should I buy?

AdinaIoana

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hello everyone!

I am a beginner and trying to decide what camera and lenses to buy.
I ask the experienced photographers on this forum to give me an advice.
All I can say about myself is that I have no experience, but I like photography very very much (I have had this passion for a long time, but never really started to do something for this) ; that's why, I have decided that now is the moment; i want to learn, but first of all i need the equipment.

I don't know now what kind of photography i like, because i never tried, all i can say now is that i would like to make landscape and macro photography; maybe next year i will think different, i don't know.

A photographer once adviced me to invest more in a camera body, and to buy medium quality lenses at the beginning (only to allow me to decide what i will like to do in the future; and then, when i know exactly which way i will go, to invest in better lenses).

I am interested in a digital camera, and my budget is 2000-2500 EURO.

Thank you!

Nikon D50 or D70s, Canon 350D, depending which feels better in your hand and which controls feel more natural for you personally. Get either with the kit lens and start to shoot and see what your style developes into.
Investing in medium quality lenses makes no sense to me. Find out what you like to shoot and get the best lenses you can afford. Worry about body upgrades later. You'll get better results with a pro lens on a consumer body than you will with a consumer lens on a pro body.

Lenses are something you can grow with. Upgrading the body is easy. Check out those cameras already recommended and maybe at the new sony or olympus also. But the main thing is to shoot and learn. Hanging out here is a good starting point. so welcome.

dsp921 said:
Get either with the kit lens and start to shot and see what your style developes into.