Beginner :)

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by j3ffff, Oct 11, 2005.

1. j3ffff

j3ffff TPF Noob!

Hi everyone!

My name is Jeff and I am 19 years old. I recently just got into photography and I don't know much about camera's and such. I was wondering, what is a good beginner camera for me to mess around with and still be able to take decent pictures. The price doesn't really matter, but I don't want to get something that is top of the line because I am still fairly new at this. Also, should I get a digital camera or one that uses film. Thanks!

-Jeff :wink:

2. nealjpage

nealjpage multi format master in a film geek package

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I like film. I learned all I know from different pages I found on the net and from a few books I checked out from the school libarary. (might explain how my pictures turn out LOL). Give 'er a chance with film. Good luck.

3. PlasticSpanner

PlasticSpanner TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Get digital because you can take loads of shots and it won't matter if only 10% work out! :lol:

Get film because it's "real" photography (ducks! :sexywink: ) and you'll concentrate more on getting the shot right rather than pay to process a whole film of tat!:lol:

4. Dweller

Dweller Inconspicuous Supporter

Photos OK to edit
    I think thats a valid point about film making you slow down and concentrate more on getting the shot right.

I started on a cheap used SLR film camera and thats where I still am now. After a year and a half I am looking seriously at a digital SLR but either way you go look for something that can be used in a totally manual mode. This will allow you to learn the benefits and drawbacks of different shutter speeds and aperatures. Also with film you will learn firsthand about different film speeds.