Beginner's Attempt.. thoughts?

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by andyffer, Oct 16, 2009.

1. andyffer

andyffer TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    A bgrinner beginner and photography beginner here just asking for some help or thoughts.
    Tell me what you guys think..

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

[​IMG]

Used a Nikon D80 with the 18-105mm f/3.5-5.6 VR

2. DScience

DScience No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    I think you went a bit overkill with the vignette.

3. tirediron

tirediron Watch the Birdy! Staff Member Supporting Member

Photos OK to edit
    Since you've posted rather a lot of images, I'll give general impressions rather than specific critique.

With respect to the automobile series: I would lose the vignette, it doesn't really add anything IMO. As well, your images are for the most part, slightly under-exposed. You really need a fill light in the grill area. As well consider your background (the tree behind the car in #1 is somewhat discordant); a larger aperture and more softly focused background would focus the eye more firmly on the subject.

#10 Doesn't really 'work' for me. There's no discernable subject and nothing for the eye to rest on. The road makes a good leading line, but it leads the eye across the bottom of the image, and you miss the top.

#11 Better use of aperture and selective focus here, but people walking away from the camera are not usually very interesting. (Is this by any chance San Diego?)

Just my $00.02 worth - your mileage may vary.

~John

4. jnm

jnm TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    I'm going to agree with everyone on the vignette for the car shots. it's overdone and i dont think even a slight vignette would add anything to them.