Benefits/Drawbacks of Listing Rates on WebSite

Cinka

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I see that some, not all, photographers, list their rates and options on their website. I'm just starting out, but have found that haggling has been an important part of getting business. I'd like to get to the point where I no longer haggle. It tends to make me feel like I'm getting gypped, but I also don't want to miss out on lower paying jobs because I need the money and experience.

What are some of the benefits and drawbacks of listing your rates on your site? Does anyone have any experience in this? Is is better to list them, stick to your guns, or not?

Thanks!

~Kristen

Totally depends on the market you're after. If you want to deal with the people that want to haggle, then you shouldn't list the prices. This can lead to wasted time spent dealing with people that in the end aren't going to make you any money anyway. I have found that listing my packages on my site is good for business. I don't have to spend a whole lot of time replying to emails from people wanting to know prices. When they contact me, they know what to expect, so most of our conversations involve what all they want to add on...

Good point, jlykins. I've been haggling with clients for about a year now and like I said, I seem to end up feeling gypped. I do way more work than I'm getting paid for. I'm really trying to make a legitimate go of this, career-wise, and while it's fun to do lower paying gigs, they're not paying the bills. I'm also afraid of loosing a lower paying job - 'cause it's better than nothing some months.

I'd love to hear from more of you on this subject. What are your thoughts?

~K