Best bang for the buck, d90 lens?

mrbeachbum2

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I've been considering the Tameron 18-270mm f/3.5-6.3 lens. It's for sale at 530$. I'm a student to this is probably top of my budget I decided. I enjoy landscape, but as I learn my camera more - I'd like to start shooting a few senior photos.

I'll also be a 2nd photographer (learning) at a few of my friends weddings upcoming. I also have the nikkor 50 mm f1.8 lens.

Thanks.

For weddings the 2 lenses Nikon pro's use are the AF-S 24-70mm f/2.8G and the AF-S 70-200 mm f/2.8G.

But, they aren't inexpensive.

Even the good 3rd party wedding lenses aren't inexpensive.

I would first be tempted to recommend the Tamron 28-75 f/2.8. This lens is versatile, and if you get a good copy, can be nice and sharp. And its a constant 2.8 aperture, which is key for lower light shooting. I picked one up instead of the Canon 24-70.

But you said you like landscapes. So I could suggest the Tamron 17-50 f/2.8. Its a better lens for landscapes and cityscapes as it goes to 17. But its a bit short for general wedding usage as a second shooter.

So its a toss up between the two.

The Tamron 18-270 is an ok lens, but generally speaking, the longer focal range in the lens, the lesser image quality you are getting. You essentially sacrifice image quality for usage. I'd skip the lens if I were you, pick up one with a constant 2.8. Investing in good glass is key in photography. And while Tamron (and Sigma) lenses have their issues like slow autofocus, they are a great entry point into the 2.8 constant aperture lenses, which is what pros look for in their zooms.

Even the good 3rd party wedding lenses aren't inexpensive

But some would still fit into the OPs budget.
Both the 28-75 f/2.8 and the 17-50 f/2.8 are $460 at BH