Best camera to purchase?

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by dcmoody23, Dec 31, 2009.

1. dcmoody23

dcmoody23 TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Hi, I'm 16 and I'm a SERIOUS art student (currently in high school). I currently don't own a camera but have saved up some money and am looking to make a purchase. I want something that will be good for sports photography, but at the same time is rather versatile for different types of photos (especially people & macro). I am looking to spend around $1500, but because I want something that will last me and that I can use in my art portfolio and in art school while training with photography I will spend more if it is worth it. I have been looking at the Nikon D90 for a while now but I'm concerned after reading reviews about a slow shutter speed (for sports).. I am looking for both a camera and a lens or lenses, or a package where i can get a discount (but with good lenses please) would be great too.

Any help or suggestions will be much appreciated.

Thanks.

2. percent20

percent20 TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    Just from research, your price point and my bias I would say get a D90 and a couple of extras with your $1500.

3. icassell

icassell TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    I would seriously consider a clean used body which will leave you more to spend on glass. I don't know the Nikon line, but a used Canon 40D can be had for the mid $500's if you look around.

4. iBats

iBats TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    haha sports photography with a budget of 1500 bucks ahahahaha

a good fast 400mm lens can run you 6 grand, and if you want something with fast fps 4.5+ then you gotta spend at least 1600 on the camera

and dont forget the monopod hehe

5. percent20

percent20 TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    100% agree with this.