Best DSLR for noob?

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by Eddie_uv777, Jan 7, 2007.

1. Eddie_uv777

Eddie_uv777 TPF Noob!

I've been looking into getting a DSLR for myself, and I've ran across the Nikon D50, and the Cannon Rebel XT, and I don't know which one is better, seeing as how I'm a noob, all I know is the XT I can find "bundles" from company's on ebay that come with lenses and etc. and they're cheaper than the Nikon D50, but I've always like nikon camera's so I'm just needing advice from someone who know's more

2. hovis

hovis TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Any chance you could try out the two? See which one feels best to you? Truth is, there isn't really a "best" entry DSLR ... the best one is the one you like the best

3. jon3k

jon3k TPF Noob!

Forget the "bundles". When I started out that's what I bought and I sold, gave, or threw away everything but the body, memory card and kit lens.

To get started you need:
    1. $600 - Camera (Rebel XT with 18-55mm Kit Lens, not a great lens, but having a zoom when you're starting out will be helpful)
    2. $30 - Compact Flash card and reader (at least 1GB)
    3. $70 - Canon 50mm f/1.8

I'd also recommend a tripod, especially if you want to shoot landscapes, and even more so if you want to shoot at night. Should be able to pull this all off for about $700 (without tripod) and you'll be set to take some great shots.

4. Sw1tchFX

Sw1tchFX TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    So than get the D50. Go to a CAMERA STORE (not best buy) and feel them out and buy which ever one feels more comfortable and which one's controls make more sense to you. It's that simple.

5. gryphonslair99

gryphonslair99 Been spending a lot of time on here!

Photos OK to edit