Best Lenses for...

jen70280

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm really new to photography, I have decided to learn something new for the new year, I am interested in sports photography and portraits. I know, I know... wide difference there lol

What kind of lenses would you recommend for hockey photography and then of course portrait photography (I have 2 small daughters) I would eventually love to learn enough to take photos of others so I have a lot to learn and I hope that I am welcome here so I can read and learn a lot from everyone!

btw, I have a Canon DLSR

Hope that 2009 is starting great for everyone!

Jennifer

Which Canon DSLR do you have? Need to know because with certain models you can't use some of the Canon lenses available.

What kind of budget are you working with? The really good Canon "L" lenses aren't cheap.

Right now a Rebel XTI but as soon as I save I'll buy another cam.

I definitely cant afford the L glass yet... but I just want something to learn and get started with.

Well many recomend the canon 50mm f1.8 for portate work and it would be a cheap lens to pick up. On a crop body like the XTI though it can prove to be a bit too far reaching in close conditions and a shorter prime might be a better bet for you, The best way to find out is to shoot your zoom kit lens like a prime; keep the zoom fixed at around 50mm and see how you find it.

As for sports the prices go up here - you want something like a 300mm lens (zoom or prime) or you can try with a 70-200mm zoom. Its a more expensive area and things are really dictated by budget and level of interest.

Well many recomend the canon 50mm f1.8 for portate work and it would be a cheap lens to pick up. On a crop body like the XTI though it can prove to be a bit too far reaching in close conditions and a shorter prime might be a better bet for you, The best way to find out is to shoot your zoom kit lens like a prime; keep the zoom fixed at around 50mm and see how you find it.