Best Nikon Lenses

macdsean

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I am relatively new to photography. I have had a Nikon D50 for about 2 years and love using it. So far I have only been using the kit 15-55mm lens. I am thinking about purchasing some new lenses but have no idea what to get.

I do a wide variety of photographs from close-up isolated objects to wide angle low light shooting and lots in between. Can anyone suggest some good all purpose lenses for my Nikon D50? Also, please list what each lens you recommend is ideal for. Thanks for the help.

eh?
your going about this backwards I think. Better way to think about getting new lenses is the following

1) work out how much you are willing to spend - ps tell us its important as we can't help without an idea of how much

2) Work out why you need a new lens. Do you want to photograph something that you can't with your current len - do you want to get a better lens to replace your current one. Once you know that you can start to work out which lenses you want.

Got it. Thanks.

Here's a few websites to get you started. No particular order, but I usually go to photozone.de first.

photozone.de
pixel-peeper
thomhogan
fredmiranda
kenrockwell
photodo
dpreview

There's a ton on them. Google also works.

Listing a purpose and a budget will give more feedback here. Also, are you looking for primes or zooms?

Ignore comments that have nothing to do with your question and haven't been given any thought behind them. There's is quite a bit of knowledge that can be found on TPF from its membership. The search function is another avenue at your disposal.