best pc for digital photography

boltonian68

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi All

My first effort on this forum.

I have been using digital cameras for over ten years now and have focussed on Canon kit. I do all of my own processing, printing and manipulation on pcs. I have tried Apple (tower and iMac) as well as microsoft kit largely on HP platforms.

I still do niot feel comfortable with any of them for different reasons.

e.g. the iMAC is great but only if you do everything on one screen. HP 64bit PC Vista is fast but but they seem to have gone down hill over the years in terms of their package. Dell have been a waste of time.

Storage of over 46000 digital negs is no joke if you want to move to another platform whilst maintaining all of the identity shortcuts built over the years. I currntly use Extensis Portfolio.

I am seriously looking for a new, versatile PC for this job.

Anybody else in the same boat?

I am looking for a computer as well, but just because I want one that is just for photography. Was looking at a MBP for the versatility but an Imac because of the better hardware, more ram capacity, and bigger harddrive (the one im eyeing has 1tb).

I game on a PC but I feel that if I want to do photography i'd need to do it on a mac. I like the system more, it seems to have a lot less problems, and I like its layout. Plus it doesn't seem to slow down over use.

Can't say that I am.

I'm using Windows 7 Professional 64bit on a machine with an i7 processor, 8 gigs RAM, high end gaming vid card, 10 TB hard drive space via eSATA, 2 large widescreen monitors, and have no issues at all.

It's blazingly fast and reliable for all my needs, including PS CS5, LR3, and associated photo editing programs and plugins, plus a pile of software I use for business work.

Last edited:
Thanks Nikato

I think I have overcome problems of storage of my digital necatives and prints.