best portrait lens for Canon Rebel Xsi

nalaimpala

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm looking for the best portrait lens for my Canon Rebel Xsi. I'm not after the most expensive lens but one that will take nice portraits. I'm pretty new to photography and have 6 week old twin boys that I want to start capturing thier every moment. Please help me find the best lens for this. Also... I would like to set up my own mini studio.... just for pictures of my family. What other lights and stuff would I need for this. Is there is cheap place to order back drops from and other basics? Any advice would be appreciated! :hugs:

[ame=http://www.amazon.com/Photography-Background-Fluorescent-T69B-Bag/dp/B00316GZEU/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&s=electronics&qid=1278505136&sr=8-2]Amazon.com: ePhoto Photography Video Lighting Light Kit & 3 Muslins Backdrop Background Chroma Key Chromakey Black White Green Screen Photo Portrait Studio Umbrella Cool Fluorescent Continuous Lighting Kit By Ephoto INC T69B/W/G/Bag: Electronics[/ame]

Would something like this work?

Lenses don't create nice portraits, photographers do. As such, you can shoot portraits with just about any lens.

Usually, it's advisable to photograph people with longer lenses because they tend to compress features, where as short (wide angle) lenses will tend to distort people. Of course, it's not always practical to use a longer lens because you would have to be farther back from your subjects to get the same framing as a wider lens.

Many people like to shoot portraits with a shallow DOF, so they use lenses with a large maximum aperture. This can also help for shooting kids in natural/constant light because it can help to get faster shutter speeds.
For zoom lenses, F2.8 is a large maximum aperture.
Some good quality lenses would be:
Canon EF-S 17-55mm F2.8 IS
Canon EF 16-35mm F2.8 L
Tamron 17-50mm F2.8
Canon 24-70mm F2.8 L
Canon 70-200mm F2.8/F4