Best Settings for my Camera

JRE313

No longer a newbie, moving up!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am new to HDR, I have a new Canon T3 Rebel. What are my best settings for HDR besides AEB and shooting in RAW mode??

I'm not familiar with Canon, but I'd say everything in Manual. Manual focus and manual exposure mostly. AEB may work, but I have found it better to bracket manually as not all the dynamic range of a given scene can be captured in jut 3 frames.

I am new to HDR, I have a new Canon T3 Rebel. What are my best settings for HDR besides AEB and shooting in RAW mode??

(M)anual mode. Use AEB and set the bracketing as far apart as the camera allows... One properly exposed, one under exposed, one over exposed... then let the software help you with the rest...

Check this Adorama video out... It will help you get started.

I don't do alot of HDR, but I would also say that when you are in Manual, and are changing your exposures, try to just raise or lower you shutter speed because if you adjust your aperature you may be changing your DOF as well, so certain parts of each photo may or may not be in focus.

I am not familiar with that camera so I will make some general suggestions:
- If you have sufficient light in the scene for your autofocus to function, then there is nothing wrong with using automatic mode.
- Set the camera to Aperature Preferred and lock in an aperature that will give you the amount of depth of field that you would like. If you want everything in the scene to be sharply focused, select f11 or higher.
- Turn OFF auto ISO (if you camera has it) and lock the ISO to its lowest setting (usually 100 or 200).
- Use of a tripod is highly recommended.
Regards, Murray

I have the same Rebel T3, but have no idea what the ideal settings for it are. I just started playing with HDR this week. I just play until I find a setting that I like, and go with it for a few. But then again I'm just now learning how to manipulate a camera.