Best tripod under $150?

DaveAndHolly219

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Looking for a solid tripod for under $150.

As far as max height adjustment goes, I am 5'10". And the only feature I definitely want is a good quick release system.

Recommendations?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

I've been using an entry level Manfrotto for $80 for 5 years and it's been great.

My suggestion is a used tripod, esp. at under $150. USed Manfrotto leg set most likely. $150 these days has become rather low-priced for anything called "best" in a tripod...but I think their used leg sets could be had for $150 or so,maybe with a decent quick-release plate head in one of their more-basic style heads like their pan-and-tilt or 3-way heads.

Yep, brand name, used.

In that price range I have bought one set of Gitzo legs without a head (figuring on finding a used head at some point), and (later) a Velbon tripod with two heads (P&T and ball). So then all I had to do was mount the ball head on the Gitzo legs and the pan and tilt head on the Velbon legs. The Velbon purchase came with two complete sets of QR bases and a couple of extra plates.

The Gitzo legs are quite heavy, but monster-grade sturdy. I usually don't take them with me, but I will take them on an upcoming family shoot. The Velbon legs are not what you would call "lightweight" by any means, but sort of in the mid-range of weight. I have a light-weight set on my wish list.

The quick-release (QR) mechanisms are somewhat proprietary, so do some research on the interchangeability of those plates. One "standard" that has come to the forefront is "Arca". If you start out with an Arca-compatible QR system, then it will be easier to find compatible attachments in the future. Probably Manfroto as well.