Best Walk Around Lens?

Fleetwood271

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I have a Nikon D90, with 18-105 kit lens, 55-200 kit lens, Nikon 50mm 1.8 and a Tamron 70-300 lens.

I went to a zoo yesterday and the 18-105 was good for 75% of the shots. But there were several times when I had to swap to the Tamron for some of the animals that were far away.

I am new to photography (about 8 months), and found it difficult to swap lens. No place to sit camera or lens, trying to remove one lens, put cap on it to protect it, hold both lens at same time, etc.

I am looking at the Tamron 18-270 lens, but I am giving up 30mm. Is there a great lens out there that'll give me a range from 18 to 300, 400, or more?

I've seen a 50-500, but I still wouldn't be able to get some close shots with the 50mm, like inside with the insects and fish.

Am I just asking for too much? Is this just part of the fun of SLR photography?

I'd appreciate your thoughts.

Yep, you are asking too much...

Let me rephrase. If you want top notch image quality, you usually give up on the convenience of using 1 lens. The 18-270 has alot of range, you wont need to change the lens, but it is not as sharp as a canon 70-200 2.8 or 4. It is also slower in autofocus (as most 3rd party lenses are).

The more focal range you cover, the less sharp the lens is. A prime lens often offers the sharpest image.

So it comes down to either dragging all your gear with you or chosing your lenses before you leave. Heading to a zoo, I wouldnt bring my ultra wide. Probably a medium telephoto (28-75) and a telephoto (70-200). Might bring an extender as well.

Practicing changing your lenses. Crouch on the ground, use the inside of your bag to keep the lens protected, ask a friend to hold the lens,...

But if you are just going for general fun family images, a wide telephoto range might work. Depends on your needs and expectations of image quality