Better Low Light Lens?

docphysics

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I was wondering which type of lens would be better at capturing images in low light situations, a 50mm f/1.8 or a 50mm f/1.4? Thanks!

There are also quality features to take into consideration as well. Just because the f1.4 is a "faster" lens, it doesn't necessarily mean it's the best lens.

Which 50mm f.18 and 50mm f1.4 are you comparing?

I just don't know anything about lenses, so I was trying to figure out which lens lets in more light, and then figure out what a good lens would be. I am new to DSLR and trying to figure out a good setup to buy.

if your new, and just a hobbist, the 1.8 will likely be enough for you..

the 1.8 is a very nice lens. But the 1.4 is an amazing piece of glass, that I personally wouldn't live without.

if your new, and just a hobbist, the 1.8 will likely be enough for you..

Don't mean to start something here, just have a question about that comment. Even if you're new, and currently a hobbyist, shouldn't one get the better lense if they can? I think of it as buying a good quality lense now and not having to 'upgrade' later if/when the 'hobby' becomes more serious.

After you learn more about lenses, you may noticed that sometimes, it is hard to say one lens is better the other. There are a lot of factors and diffferent photographyers rate the factors differently. Especially when cost is one of the factor.

If just for low light alone, of course F/1.4 is better than F/1.8 being able to open the aperture wider.

But when you compare 50mm F/1.4 vs 50mm F/1.8, I do not think I can tell you which one is better for you. I know which one is better for me at this moment.