Better value? (d90 vs t2i)

hawkeye293

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
So I'm looking at two deals. T2i with kit lens, 18-55mm is lens. Also includes an extra ef 55-250mm is zoom lens. 999.99 at Best Buy.

or

Nikon d90. Includes the 18-105mm af lens. 1030.00 on Amazon.

So I'm undecided on which camera. Id like opinions on the better bang for buck here. The Cannon comes with the extra nice zoom lens, but I like the idea of just using one lens (plus id add a 50mm) with the Nikon. My budget is about 1k. I'm not partial to either brand and i don't have a bunch of lens' that put me in one camp or the other. Video is only a minor consideration. Both have it, but I know the Canon is a little better. I'm more concerned with picture, but I'm a novice and new. Thanks.

Really depends on what you want.

The Canon 55-250mm lens is a very entry-level zoom with less than stellar image quality, so I don't consider getting a good price on that really a "deal". There are also other problems with that lens (plastic mount, front element rotates during AF, can't manually fine-tune focus in AF mode, slow AF etc.). But if you are okay with all of that, the T2i is probably the cheaper option for getting a larger focal length range. But if all you care about is the lowest price, you can do much better with a Pentax K-x with 18-55mm and 55-300mm lenses for under $700 from Adorama.

Personally, I felt I would outgrow the T2i very quickly. The ergonomics didn't feel right for my hands, and the lack of a second LCD, the lack of a second control dial, the lack of dedicated buttons for some key adjustments etc. would probably have meant a fairly quick upgrade for me. The D90 has all those features, so for me, it would remain usable longer as I grow into photography. From that perspective, I felt the D90 was a better "value". And once I factored in the prices of some better glass than the kit lenses, the D90 was actually cheaper for my needs.

But, that was for my needs. What are yours? :)