Black Back Drop Help

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by MckenzieMontague, Jan 7, 2007.

1. MckenzieMontague

MckenzieMontague TPF Noob!

HI,

I normally shoot high key photography, but I want to learn how to shoot on a black back drop.

I tried setting up 2 of my lights, one for the hair light and one light positioned in the front facing the subject. Basically it was disaster. The image was extremely noisy.

My camera was set to ISO 100, WB- A, Shutter- 200, F 11. I really have no idea what I am doing. Can you refer a book as well. or give me an easy set up for a black back drop. I really want to make this work.

I have 4 Alien Bee strobes with soft boxes. Thank you for your help.

2. niccig

niccig TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I'm still learning when it comes to lighting, but "Matters of Light and Depth" (I forget the author) is a great lighting book.

3. Big Mike

Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Can you show us an example?

What are you using to determine your exposure?

4. gizmo2071

gizmo2071 TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    I'd like to see an example aswell.
    I shoot regularly with a black backdrop and two lights, with pretty much the same settings with zero to very lttle noise.

5. fmw

fmw No longer a newbie, moving up!

The meter tries to expose subjects to a medium gray. If you shoot a black object and expose it enough to make it medium gray, you will have overexposed it pretty severely. How your camera reads the reflected light from the subject varies from model to model and I don't know how yours works but, if your images come out light with a gray background, then you are simply overexposing. Trying to correct that in post processing could be causing the noise.