Blown out sky

Discussion in 'Critique Forum Archives' started by Jeremiah Johnson, Apr 24, 2006.

1. Jeremiah Johnson

Jeremiah Johnson TPF Noob!

I took this on a cloudy day over the weekend, and was wondering if anybody had advice on:

using photoshop to recover the cloudy sky; and

how to avoid this problem in the future. I'm pretty new to all this photography stuff. Okay to edit...
    [​IMG]

2. Arch

Arch Damn You! Staff Member Supporting Member

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    It wouldn't be possible to recover this sky, all the colour and detail is gone.... do you shoot in RAW (digital) or are you using film?.....
    What you can do in future is to use a polarising filter over the lens... or an ND grad filter. I always slightly underexpose any landscape shot and then bring out the detail and lighten in Photoshop.... to me its the best way of achieving balenced tones throughout.
    With this shot, if i really wanted a sky, i would probably replace the sky area completely either with the sky from another shot taken on the same day, or a sky from a different shot completely..... luckely tho i dont think the sky takes too much away from this image as most of the frame is filled by the action in foreground :thumbup:

3. Jeremiah Johnson

Jeremiah Johnson TPF Noob!

No, my camera doesn't shoot in RAW, it's a jpeg. Thanks for the advice. Underexposing sounds like the way to go next time.

4. slickhare

slickhare TPF Noob!

as said before, a polarizing filter could correct this when shooting. if you're doing a lot of outdoor shots i highly recommend one. i have the same problem when i shoot outdoors. it's quite frustrating actually.

5. Onyx

Onyx TPF Noob!

ive never seen a camera that only shoots in jpeg that can use a filter. maybe some high end point and shoots but this is to be expected when you want detail in the dark rock. cameras dont have the dynamic range to epose shadows and highlights so they are both detailed.

6. Philip Weir