Blown out sky

Jeremiah Johnson

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I took this on a cloudy day over the weekend, and was wondering if anybody had advice on:

using photoshop to recover the cloudy sky; and

how to avoid this problem in the future. I'm pretty new to all this photography stuff. Okay to edit...
IMG_1016.jpg

It wouldn't be possible to recover this sky, all the colour and detail is gone.... do you shoot in RAW (digital) or are you using film?.....
What you can do in future is to use a polarising filter over the lens... or an ND grad filter. I always slightly underexpose any landscape shot and then bring out the detail and lighten in Photoshop.... to me its the best way of achieving balenced tones throughout.
With this shot, if i really wanted a sky, i would probably replace the sky area completely either with the sky from another shot taken on the same day, or a sky from a different shot completely..... luckely tho i dont think the sky takes too much away from this image as most of the frame is filled by the action in foreground :thumbup:

as said before, a polarizing filter could correct this when shooting. if you're doing a lot of outdoor shots i highly recommend one. i have the same problem when i shoot outdoors. it's quite frustrating actually.

ive never seen a camera that only shoots in jpeg that can use a filter. maybe some high end point and shoots but this is to be expected when you want detail in the dark rock. cameras dont have the dynamic range to epose shadows and highlights so they are both detailed.

If you shot on film [tranny] you might be able to recover the sky detail by doing two scans and stripping the sky in in Photoshop [not difficult], but the extemes between highlight & shadow are too great for a single exposure on digital. I don't believe a polaroid filter would help as it was a dull day. Suggest as another post mentioned, try to strip in another sky. Philip. www.philipweirphotography.com