Blur the background?

Discussion in 'Photography Beginners' Forum' started by Photoguy123, Mar 23, 2008.

1. Photoguy123

Photoguy123 TPF Noob!

Im very VERY new to this SLR camera stuff. I won a Nikon D80 at work and always loved pictures with the subject in the front and the rest of the shot blurred alot. How do you do this? Do most of you use the presets that come with the camera (sport, portrait, landscape) or do you use the manual modes to do the settings.

Thanks!

I wanted something like these....I got them from google images
    [​IMG]

[​IMG]

2. JimmyO

JimmyO TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Shots like those are made with lenses using big (smaller number is bigger) apertures (the number f/2.8)

You can also do things like that one photoshop also.

But you should set the aperture on your camera to the smalled possible number, probably f/3.5

3. Photoguy123

Photoguy123 TPF Noob!

So put it to manual control and put it to f/3.5 and foruc with the lense manually till i get the desired results?

4. djrichie28

djrichie28 TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit

Either that or set the camera to Aperture Priority mode (A) and let the camera match a correct shutter speed automatically. Just set the Aperture to the lowest number, as mentioned, probably f3.5

5. Crosby

Crosby TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    I used the aperture priority mode today but it is a film camera so I'll have to wait until I get them printed.

I used f/4 and auto shutter speed with ISO 400 film. I can't wait to see how they turned out but I hope the background will be blurred. The background is mostly of a budding Bradford Pear Tree (green and white).

Just read the camera manual and experiment with different settings. I would also recommend Understanding Exposure, a book that has been recommended to me from people on this forum. It has helped me alot!

Crosby

6. onlybo

onlybo TPF Noob!

Firstly,you must use the AV mode,secondly,turned the max Optical Zoom.