Blurry Images?

Ked1986

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hello-I am very new to photography-I just purchased my first dslr camera, a canon eos rebel xsi...I have been playing around with it set on manual mode because I really want to move out of auto but I am having a really hard time producing images that are either well lit or not blurry..I'm not sure if I understand the operations correctly but I have been using a low aperture (since I am trying to photograph my 4 month old son indoors with pretty poor lighting..) and then adusting the shutter speed to what my camera recommends so I can have a properly exposed image. What the result is though is a really blurry image (because my son is moving) in a well lit environment. I don't know what to do because I have to work with the lighting I have..When I increase the shutter speed the photo is very dark..Am I missing something? Do I need artificial lighting? I am not using a flash...Any help would be most appreciated? Thank you!!

Last edited:
Hello-I am very new to photography-I just purchased my first dslr camera, a canon eos rebel xsi...I have been playing around with it set on manual mode because I really want to move out of auto but I am having a really hard time producing images that are either well lit or not blurry..I'm not sure if I understand the operations correctly but I have been using a low aperture (since I am trying to photograph my 4 month old son indoors with pretty poor lighting..) and then adusting the shutter speed to what my camera recommends so I can have a properly exposed image. What the result is though is a really blurry image (because my son is moving) in a well lit enviroment. I don't know what to do because I have to work with the lighting I have..When I increase the shutter speed the photo is very day..Am I missing something? Do I need artifical lighting? I am not using a flash...Any help would be most appreciated? Thank you!!