Blurry Moving Objects without Flash

indextpf

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Good day,

I'm a newbie/casual. I have a Canon PowerShot A2600, but it doesn't have any manual shutter speed setting.

I can take clear photos of moving objects when the flash is on. But when the flash is off, every moving object becomes blurry.

I tried covering the flash with paper while shooting, it kind of worked. But I've read that doing that is dangerous.

My question is: Is there any way to increase shutter speed when the flash is off? Or is shutter speed even the actual problem? Basically, I want to know a trick to keep moving objects clear even without flash.

Thanks in advanced.

I think Flash is not affected by shutter speed. Setting the camera to Shutter priority mode, where you set the shutter speed and the camera automatically selects the aperture.

A benefit of using flash is the duration of the flash of light is usually short enough that it stops motion.

At full power the duration of the flash your camera produces is about 1/1000. If the flash power is less than full power, the flash duration is likely even shorter.

After a quick look at the user manual for your camera I do see that the flash power level is adjustable nor that the flash can be entirely disabled. It is either in auto and fires when the camera programming thinks it's needed or you can have it ON for every shot, or you can select the slow syncro mode. (page 62)

Last edited: