Blurryness

CFRacer22

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
I'm using a Canon Rebel XTI, just got it, and a feature I'm trying to get used to is the sequencing. I'm a motocross racer and this feature will be really fun if I can figure it out good. My problem is that the camera only allows the sequencing in two of the 'automatic' modes, Sports and Portrait. The sports mode sounds like it would be perfect but you can't adjust settings in these modes and sometimes it chooses a really slow shutter speed and blurs everything. It seems to work fine on things far away, for example a moving car 100 feet away, but for things close up, for example a person 8 feet from me moving around really fast, it doesn't work it all, every moving part of the person is a blur.

Also the camera is supposed to do this at about 3 pics per second, sometimes it seems to do it at that rate while sometimes it seems to go much slower...

btw, i'm really new to photography outside of a p&s digital camera...

I don't have that camera but my guess about the burst shooting is that you can do it in any non-program mode, such as aperture preferred, shutter prederred or manual.

First find and read the manual section about setting for multiple exposures on each button press.
Second, set for shutter priority, which is what sports mode is.

Then make a bunch of test shots, adjusting ISO (equivalent of film speed) up until you get the results you need.

i had a digital rebel a coupe of years back and have since had a 20D and now a 5D.

on every one of those you can use continuous shooting on various modes. I normally use Av and select as large an aperture as my lens will allow.

You need to select the continuous shooting mode rather than single shot mode. You can only select continuous shooting in the creative section as Canon calls it.

Check your instruction manual - the symbol for continuous shooting looks like a square with several others behind it.