Boarder and Logo attempt...

Discussion in 'General Gallery' started by WolfSpring, Oct 29, 2007.

1. WolfSpring

WolfSpring TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I used gimp to try and do a boarder and Logo on a photo, it's a nature photo, but it's a general catagory edit IMO. If I'm wrong feel free to move it mods :). I'm new to PP photos, all I really know how to do is crop, and auto correct, and very little about layers with magnetic lasso.

[​IMG]

The seagull was coming in for landing to eat the shrimp, he actually let me get some of him with the shrimp in his mouth I will post later. Crummy day of overcast, color was horid and I'm not the best photog in the world, but any advice on how to do the boarder better, or how to get the logo so it is just the letters and not a background using GIMP would be appreciated. TY.

2. LaFoto

LaFoto Just Corinna in real life Staff Member Supporting Member

Photos NOT OK to edit
    The seagull landing on the wet sand is nice, pity about the clipped off part of its reflection but that little mistake would certainly happened to me, too! It is very centered, so I think I would have looked into a different crop of the image in order to move the gull a bit further to the left.

As to the ready-made border ... that's a matter of taste, really, I personally don't like those that resemble a real border (3-D effect and all), I like borders around photos as a finishing touch but prefer my PS-created flat ones. The colour of the border you chose is nowhere there in the photo, so I feel it is forced upon this photo and doesn't help it at all. It distracts immensely.

More so does that big, fat, green, wrapped-into-white signature. That one ruins the photo (in the way you are presenting it here). It is too massive, too prominent, too green (says I, imagine! ;) :D) ... I prefer them small, subtle, and always taking up a colour that already is there in the photo as such.

3. WolfSpring

WolfSpring TPF Noob!