Book recomendations

Milhouse

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I want to pick up the book Understanding Exposure. Unfortunately Chapters is selling it for 31$ when I can get it online at Amazon.com for 17USD. If I pick it up online I was thinking of getting another book to get free shipping (I'm such a sucker). I'm looking for recommendations for another book, keeping in mind that I am a noob and I am not shooting anything in particular. Thanks

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
Sounds like a cool book, but I don't see myself using lighting equipment at this point, rather using avail light. I think that it is definitely a future read though. After flipping around on Amazon.com, I think that I may look for one geared towards Landscape and wildlife. There are a couple to choose from, I'm just reading through the reviews now.

This is coming from a beginner and I've been reading several books from my local library. I liked Rick Sammon's Complete guide to Digital Photography http://www.amazon.com/Sammons-Compl...1436019?ie=UTF8&s=books&qid=1194448618&sr=1-4

It's a well rounded beginners book with emphasis on using Photoshop as well. If you don't plan on using the software, you may not like this book as much. I can't wait to read Understanding Exposure.

Look for books by John Hedgecoe

Look for books by John Hedgecoe

My favorite of his is his New Book of Photography. It's one of those you can read over and over and still get so much out of it.

Also look for books from Scott Kelby. He has a weak sense of humor and usualy overdoes it in his books, but the technical aspects are targeted perfectly for the beginner and intermediate users in general.