Bought Nikon D5000 for photographing oil paintings

Terry1964

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi,
I have just bought a camera in order to take pictures of my art work so I can produce prints. I have no idea of how best to do this. The paintings are all in oil and approx. 24" by 30" . the camera is a Nikon D5000. I bought a tripod and a vf(?) lens for protection. I have no experience or knowledge whatsoever in photography, but figured with a decent camera and a lot of help I should be able to get some decent results. If any one can offer some advice I would greatly appreciate it.
This is one I took yesterday in my front room, I had to do a lot with it on paintshop pro. I think I took it raw. There seems a lot of little light reflections on it from the canvas that make it appear a bit faded in comparison to the painting.
It doesn't seem to be very sharp either esp. when enlarged to actual size.

SPITFIREJAMIEEDITED003.jpg
[/IMG]

Cheers,
Terry

I'd stay at a 50mm focal length, or longer to avoid distortion. Maybe an 85mm prime. Back the camera up so the painting fills the frame, and use the sharpest aperture of the lens. Most lenses are sharpest around f/8 but it really depends on the lens. I'd light from both sides, pointing down somewhat from up high, if possible - to show some texture. I think I'd definitely diffuse the light, like with a soft box or something similar.

Good luck, hope that helps a little.

I teach art and document all the major student submissions. These are the steps I use:
- evenly light your work. Two lights at 45 works for me. A flash will give hot spots.
- set the camera's WB to match your lighting
- set image type to raw
- use a tripod and set the ISO to its lowest optimized setting. (On my 5D mk II this would be 100 even though the camera is capable of 50)
- get the work as vertical as possible (not leaning)
- place a reference card beside the work - Black, Middle Grey, White