Bracketing vs. Digital Exposure Compensation

Discussion in 'HDR Discussions' started by LokiZ, Oct 22, 2009.

1. LokiZ

LokiZ TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Is there a big difference between creating three shots using bracketing and creating three shots using Digital Exposure Compensation when creating HDR files for use with tone mapping process?

I mean I know for one using DEC helps with the alignment problems but is there a down side?

What are your opinions on this?

Thanks.

2. ann

ann No longer a newbie, moving up!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    i can't image why there would be a difference.

the down side to bracketing with auto bracketing would be forgetting you had set the program and then it would continue to change exposures until you "null" out the program.

3. Rmac

Rmac TPF Noob!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    Not that I'm an expert, but there really is no difference. The only time I bracket my shots is , for example moving clouds, the bracket mode will fire the shots faster. A lot of times I'm shooting more than three exposures, in that instance exposure compensation is the only way to go.

Mac,

4. Overread

Overread has a hat around here somewhere Staff Member Supporting Member

Photos OK to edit
    It makes no difference and all the difference ;)

Exposure compensation - first lets make sure we all understand what this mode is (not to beinsulting, but some people do get the wrong idea about how this mode functions). When you take a shot in any of the auto or semi auto modes the camera will look at the light in the scene, meter it using its own built in meter and then adjust the settings it has under its control (so for aperture priority it will adjust the shutter speed for example) until the settings will give a correct exposure with the light present.