Bracketing.......

Discussion in 'Beyond the Basics' started by PNA, Apr 5, 2006.

  1. PNA

    PNA TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,771
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wave when you see me go by.....
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I’m trying to learn how to bracket with my D70. After reading the manual and following directions, I still can’t figure out what I may be doing wrong, so I need your input.
    I shoot a 3 series set at ± .3, then shoot another series at ± .7,
    and a third series at ± 1. The aperture is priority so the speed changes from shot to shot. OK, now the issue, I can’t find the shot that is equal to the auto shot in the three series’. All three series’ should have one shot that is the same speed and aperture setting………no????
     
  2. Big Mike

    Big Mike I am Big, I am Mike Staff Member Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Dec 16, 2003
    Messages:
    33,822
    Likes Received:
    1,811
    Location:
    Edmonton
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos NOT OK to edit
    Check the EXIF data, that should tell you how much exposure compensation has been applied.

    If it's the same shot, with the same light. Then I would think that the first shot in each series would have the same exposure....and the same settings if you used the same aperture.
     
  3. PNA

    PNA TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,771
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wave when you see me go by.....
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Yes, the first shot in the series is auto, but the first shot in the second series and the first shot in the third series are not identical. That's my question.......shouldn't they be if all other factors are equal?
     
  4. zedin

    zedin TPF Supporters Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Jun 17, 2005
    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    5
    Location:
    Irvine, Orange County, CA
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    I would run the test using manual mode instead of apeture priority. That way you can MAKE sure that each intitial set starts with the same exposure settings. The camera might have decided that for one of the sets that a slightly different exposure was needed.
     
  5. PNA

    PNA TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,771
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wave when you see me go by.....
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Excelent suggestion............i'll let you know the results. Thanks.
     
  6. PNA

    PNA TPF Noob!

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2006
    Messages:
    2,771
    Likes Received:
    0
    Location:
    Wave when you see me go by.....
    Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Brilliant....that’s the answer. The camera is set in manual mode with prescribed speed and aperture settings, then bracketing around those settings with different exposures compensations works exactly as it should. Even Nikon didn’t come up with the correct solution.
    Many thanks, Zedin
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

bracketing with nikon f3