Breaking into full frame for around $1k

Matthew Howell

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
I recently sold my 70D to a very pushy guy who just had to have it so I could upgrade to a full frame camera but I dont know which way to go. My price range is around 1K +/- $300 and I am mainly looking at used cameras. it looks like my Main choices are either a 6D, A 5Dmk2 or one of the older 1Ds models but I dont know how any of these cameras really stack up. mainly I am a street photographer so the size of the 1Ds cameras is a turn off but It looks like I could get either a Mk2 or 3 for around my budget. anyways if yall would chip in that would be nice as I am running two EOS 55's and a X-7 right now and I really need a digital again for some of the more basic work

I would go for a used 6D, nice camera, as long as you don't expect it to be a great sports camera (weak AF system for that) then you are looking at a very good modern camera.
Personally I wouldn't bother with anything else from your list.

Any reason you want a full frame for street photography? I always thought full frame was 'best' for landscape, portrait and/or weddings. It seems like many of the 'street' photographers on this site prefer mirrorless or 4/3 smaller type cameras.

Mainly for the larger view angle and I usually only keep one digital camera so when I need to do portraits and landscapes I can easily switch gears

Hands down the 6D. Lightweight, and it is known for its high ISO performance, a must in street photog.I think.

Any reason you want a full frame for street photography? I always thought full frame was 'best' for landscape, portrait and/or weddings. It seems like many of the 'street' photographers on this site prefer mirrorless or 4/3 smaller type cameras.