Bridal Show - Too Many Photographers

LarissaPhotography

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.larissaphotography.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos NOT OK to edit
Last week we attended a bridal show. We were expecting to be one of 2 or 3 photographers there. Last year we were the only photographer there (sweet!). Instead, there were AT LEAST 10 other photographers. For the brides it seems like that would be photographer overload. If I was in their shoes, I wouldn't even be interested in another photographer after 5 or so.
I know of some shows that limit the number of photographers to 3, and that seems like a good idea to me. Have you guys had similar problems? Do you only attend shows where the number of photographers has a limit?

I am no pro so I can't speak from that end, but I can speak from the end of a consumer. My wife and I booked our wedding photographer at a bridal expo where there were about a dozen photographers. The one we chose got screwed on his location. The expo was in an art gallery and he was downstairs in an out of the way room surrounded by the balloon art people and the rental places.

We chose him because he had the most professional setup (a 24in iMac with a slideshow of his work, brochures, sample prints and books, a professional backdrop, he was well dressed, and had his gear with him ready to talk about it and taking pictures of the event for fun). What we learned about him that day was that he was passionate about photography and does it even when there is no money involved, that he does great work, has good equpiment, establishes a rapport with prospective clients that made us feel comfortable, and he made us laugh a lot.

We booked him that day and paid the deposit on site. Bottom line is don't feel discouraged by the number of other photographers there. Be yourself and present yourself the best way you can.