Broken camera?

lipless

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Hi. I'm pretty new to this whole photography thing. My dad bought a Yashica FX-3 Super back in the 80's and when I was about 3, I started to play with it and the film advance lever broke off. For years, my dad said the camera still works, it just needs to be fixed but my mom thinks it's not fixable. It's been collecting dust in the basement for some time now and I was wondering if it was possible to get it fixed without insane prices. Also, my dad tried to super glue it back on. Would that affect the camera in any way?

YASFX3s1.jpg

Sorry if this is a stupid question. I really don't know anything about cameras.

Thanks in advance.

For the price of getting this one repaired, you could go to your local pawn shop and find a viable substitute. There and antique shops are the best place, IMO, to get older manual focus set ups.

As for the superglue...never caused me any problems with anything I've broken. ;)

It's not a stupid question. That's why most of us joined this forum anyway. :D

Try the super glue. I've used it with many camera repairs. Just remember that a little goes a long way. Don't get it into any moving parts.

With almost all Yashica 35mm SLRs it would be cheaper to buy a used one that's in good condition; they're going for about $15 on Ebay, and I imagine a repair charge would be $75+. You could even see if you could find one with no lens or a different lens, and keep the 50mm lens you have.