Building an example portfolio. (Critique needed)

Trenton Romulox

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Website
www.jeremygrayphotography.com
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
Hi everyone,
I'm not a professional, but I want to get into doing portraiture, mainly senior portraits. All right, so, I can get my friends (I'm in high school) to want to work with me or whatever, but what about people that aren't my close friends or kid's parents? So, I want to build up a portfolio so that I can show parents or students some shots that I've taken. Anyways, I shot this self-portrait today, and am looking for some critique, on everything, so that I can start taking shots for the portfolio I'm talking about. This was shot with with a 50mm f/1.4 using two off-camera SB-800s @f/16 (had to make sure I was in-focus, self-portraits are difficult HAHA). Hardcore critique is not only welcome, but greatly appreciated as I just want to get good enough at this where I can start to build up a client base. And because I'm a kid, it'll be tough to build up a client base, so I'm gonna have to put forth top-quality work. I'm mostly interested in doing location portraiture, because that's what most senior portraits around here are, but it is freezing rain outside, so I was shackled to my room. Oh, and I want to get a lighting set-up figured out before my best friend comes up from California (she's a model for GAP, A&F, Ford Modeling, and other stuff, so she'd be AMAZING to work with).

Right, so the shot...please, DO NOT TAKE IT EASY ON ME. That's why I'm posting here rather than General Gallery or People Gallery. Thank you for looking. (I used the selective color because, one, I like my eyes, and two my nose was red today due to my teenage skin issues HAHA) I had to heal a lot of little blemishes, but many still remain, so yeah...gotta work on that.)

_DSC5601-Edit-2.jpg