Bulb mode -- help please

ben.

TPF Noob!
Reaction score
Can others edit my Photos
Photos OK to edit
I am fairly new to photography, i have a canon rebel xsi and i heard about bulb mode. Is it something you activate or something you buy? Might sound stupid but i heard both so far.

If it is something you activate, how?

you just need to dial down the shutter speed control until you reach bulb. It is used for time exposure, which of course should be done on a tripod. Also , a stop watch helps to track the time

well mine doesnt do that, on the xsi you can go as low as 30 seconds and 1/4000 second, there is nothing past that. what am I doing wrong?

I have an XSI and its there.

B should be the next value after the 30 second shutter. You can probably get it in M or TV modes. Note that without a cable or wireless trigger, you will have to physically hold down the button. If you are doing a 2 minute exposure, thats a long time to hold the camera, and it needs to be steady to get crisp images.

There are some wireless remotes for the XSI that allow to keep the shutter open.
Should be about $25. Check out Simon's Camera or Photoservice in the Old Montreal area, or Lozeau on St-Hubert. :)
Amazon.com: Canon Wireless Remote Control RC1 for Digital Rebel: Camera & Photo

As an Amazon Associate we earn from qualifying purchases.
Note that without a cable or wireless trigger, you will have to physically hold down the button.
Invest in a shutter release cable. They're designed to exert a net zero force on the shutter and are cheap.

i am gonna use bulb mode in the next 3-4 days probably with a tripod and a shutter release cable. i am planning on shooing the stars (so that you can see the path of them) with a shutter speed of 20-30 minutes. what do you think should my f/# be and my ISO??

i am fairly new to photography, thanks for understanding

20-30 min is ok, but keep in mind that you have surrounding light than can interfere with the shot, so pay attention to that.