Business Idea

Discussion in 'General Shop Talk' started by Argentis, Sep 10, 2007.

1. Argentis

Argentis TPF Noob!

Can others edit my Photos:
    Photos OK to edit
    Hi guys, I'm fairly new to both the forums and photography. I have an idea for a business (which I'm not going to post the specifics of quite yet). My problem is that I don't have a diverse enough portfolio to make this fly on my own, and I was wondering how feasible it is to approach other photographers to either buy the rights to some of their images or to use a royalty-type system to reduce up-front costs.

Also, is there any recommended reading (books or websites) for the photography business?

Edit: I am NOT in any way planning to try and take credit for others' work myself. I fully intend to give full credit to the proper person.

Thanks,
    Argentis

2. kundalini

kundalini Been spending a lot of time on here!

Photos NOT OK to edit
    I would suggest to take more photos to build up your own portfolio.

3. Kimber57

Kimber57 TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    How would showing a prospective client someone else's work encourage them to hire you, not knowing the type of work YOU can do? I'm not getting that at all!

I agree that you should probably build up your own portfolio before trying to acquire clients.

4. ~Stella~

~Stella~ TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    Is this something other than a regular photography business? Hmmm.... if so, I think you need to post more details if you want answers other than "take more photos" which, barring more information is my response as well.

5. Argentis

Argentis TPF Noob!

Photos OK to edit
    I guess my problem is that I'm not sure how to phrase my idea without it getting ripped off by someone trolling the boards. With what I'm thinking of, it wouldn't be hard for someone to say "hey that's a good idea", and off they go. Just a little paranoid, and as far as I can tell, nobody else is doing what I have in mind yet.

6. Jim Gratiot